Koes Lab Members Win NCATS ASPIRE Challenge

(left to right) Paul Francoeur, Jonathan King, David Koes, Jocelyn Sunseri, Matthew Ragoza

Dr. Koes and his lab members were among the winners of the NCATS ASPIRE 2018 Award for the following project:

Deep and Generative Structure-Based Models for Drug Discovery

Dr. David Koes
Dr. Matthew Ragoza
Jocelyn Sunseri
Paul Francoeur
Jonathan King

The project team proposes to make open source tools and resources available to researchers that enable the rapid identification and optimization of small molecule therapeutics for structure-enabled molecular targets for pain and opioid abuse.

The goal of the 2018 NCATS ASPIRE Design Challenges is to generate innovative and catalytic approaches toward solving the opioid crisis through the development of next-generation addiction-free analgesics with new chemistries, data-mining and analytical tools and technologies, as well as biological assays that will revolutionize discovery, development and pre-clinical testing of new and safer treatments for pain, opioid use disorder (OUD) and overdose.